Soul And / Or Related Artists
SoulwalkingStart HereThe ArtistsListen Out ForThe ChartBeen MissedRespectReal AudioOpinionNetworkJazz & FusionLinksMotown
love committee

Love Committee

Love Committee comprised of:

Ron Tyson (b. Ronald Tyson Presson, 8th February 1948, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, U.S.A.)

Norman Frazer

Larry Richardson

Joe Freeman


Michael Bell (who replaced Larry Richardson)

Led by Ron Tyson, Love Committee were originally known as a group called The Ethics.

The Ethics later changed their name to Love Committee.

The Ethics the ethics

The group were originally formed in 1967 in Philadelphia by members Ron Tyson, Joe Freeman, Carl Enlow, and Andrew Collins.

The Ethics recorded for various independent imprints including Wale, Kent, and Golden Fleece, featuring various tracks including 'Standing in the Darkness' and 'I Want My Baby Back'.

The group worked with Vince Montana and Thom Bell, however, the group had gone their seperate ways by 1970.

The group recorded for the Ariola imprint, which preceded a move to Salsoul's Gold Mind subsidiary.

As Love Committee, the group released two albums entitled 'Law and Order', in 1978, and a self titled album, in 1980.

In 1983, Ron joined the ranks of the Temptations.

Ron Tyson's brother, David Tyson, is a member of singing group The Manhattans.

In addition to his work as a singer, Ron Tyson has written songs for several artists including The O'Jays, First Choice, Eddie Kendricks, Archie Bell & The Drells, The Four Tops, The Dells, Eddie Holman and Gloria Gaynor.

Law And OrderLove Committee

Real Player


Law and Order (Gold Mind Records 1978)

Love Committee (Electric Records 1980)

top of the page